Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Rbreb13

Keep Your Start Menu to Yourself

Recommended Posts

Keep Your Start Menu to Yourself

The items in the Start menu come from two sources: one that is user-specific and one that is shared. The Windows XP upgrade puts all existing Start menu items into the shared area. If you delete any items from your account's Start menu, they are deleted from each user's Start menu.

To permit individualized Start menus, you must click on Start, select My Computer, and click the Folders toolbar button. Next, navigate to C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start menu. Right-click on that folder and select Copy.

Now right-click on each user's folder in C:\Documents and Settings and select Paste. You may be asked to confirm replacing items in the Start menu folder; answer Yes to all. Finally, delete C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start menu. Now each user has a personal copy of the Start menu and can freely delete unwanted items without affecting others.

Installing programs may add new items to the shared area. To move these to your personal Start menu, right-drag them to the desktop and choose Move here. Then right-drag them back to the Start button and again choose Move here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...