6200 or X800/9800 XT

ballsdeep

Ive been looking at getting a new vid card and originally was going to look at the ATI 9800 XT until i found some info on ATI's new X800. its has 12 pixel pipelines compared to 9800 8 (i think) and boasts to be twice the video card, but i dont understand why it is cheaper?

ATI card price list

i am not good at keeping up with technology but i thought that the register was a good source (if you review junkies know better let me know). i was just going to drop a few hundred bucks on the 9800 XT but i dont want to if all these new badass cards are going to be released soon. this means that the price of all 9800's will drop soon and i might even splurge and buy a nvidia 6800. these were very informative reviews and it amazes me that the video card industery has technilogically(SP?) exceeded the limites of the 3 Ghz proccesors. they say that these video cards basically rely on how fast your computer runs and there is not a CPU that can maximize the full use of these redifined cards.

6800 ulta review

ATI X800 platinum review

i still dont understand though why ATI boats the X800 is twice as fast, but costs 100 bucks cheaper?

Wait for the X800XT instead of getting the Pro. 16 pipelines. Or the price on the Pro will drop. Should happen about mid-late June.

Yep, definitely wait.

• 3 weeks later...

If you don't want to wait, you can still save yourself some money.

Buy a 9800 Pro 128 or 256, and Flash the Bios to a 9800 XT (Either 128 or 256 MB)

I did Just this and the results speak for themselves.

http://www.computingondemand.com/forums/in...=ST&f=15&t=4333

You can also do the same with a 9600 NP/Pro.

Yeah, I think his best bet is to wait, Junior. No offense to balls, but he isn't as well versed on this tuff as we are.

Yeah, I think his best bet is to wait, Junior. No offense to balls, but he isn't as well versed on this tuff as we are.

I can say that a 2 year old could do this man. It's real easy.