jazboy

HTPC build

I am fairly new in HTPC field. I heard lot of times it before and read about it in wikipedia. I want to make an HTPC for myself. Can anyone guide how much it can cost around? I want to build neither cheap or neither very costly.

My honest opinion? I would get a cheap SFF PC and a decent video card with HDMI that is low profile. Along with a Blue-tooth keyboard and mouse. Then, you have yourself a nice HTPC for under 350.00!

computer: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7069346&CatId=5139

Vid Card: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/Category/guidedSearch.asp?CatId=28&sel=Mfr;Mfr_2525,Detail;236_1239_3359_3359

Blue-tooth Keyboard & mouse: http://computingondemand.com/rocketfish-bluetooth-keyboard-mouse-rf-btcmbo2

I would have to agree. If you try to put something together yourself (assuming you don't have any leftover parts) you will probably end up around $500 when you throw in an OS.

I also discussed with my one of friend about HTPC. Here are break up which i am planning

1. Motherboard : $80

2. Chasis : $50

3. RAM 8 GB DDR3: $55 (yesterday i saw one deal)

4. Graphics Card: $100

5. Sound Card: $30

6. Hard Drive 1TB: $50

7. Operating System: $100 (this is only thing on whcih i don't want to spend this much. I heard about Ubuntu Studio which is free and can work. What do you guys think about it?)

8. Intel Core i3 processor $60

Let me know if i am missing anything.

My honest opinion? I would get a cheap SFF PC and a decent video card with HDMI that is low profile. Along with a Blue-tooth keyboard and mouse. Then, you have yourself a nice HTPC for under 350.00!

computer: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7069346&CatId=5139

Vid Card: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/Category/guidedSearch.asp?CatId=28&sel=Mfr;Mfr_2525,Detail;236_1239_3359_3359